SOLSC: Dancing with Her Mom

Her mom didn’t want to come.  “I don’t speak so good English,” she tells me.  I try to explain that this is not a problem.  “You can speak in Russian.  She really wants you to come.”  When A saw her mother, she begged.  With her hands clasped in prayer, she pleaded, “Please!” The last thing I saw as I left was A erasing her name from the student-led conference sign-up sheet.

But, when I arrived at school today – her name was back on the schedule.  When A arrived with her mom, I squealed in delight, “You came!”  A was so proud. She glowed with joy as she shared her portfolio.  As they thumbed through the pages they laughed and giggled.

As part of her conference, A was excited to show her mom the Brain Dance, a major component of our unit of inquiry on dance. And so they danced.

Dancing

4 responses to “SOLSC: Dancing with Her Mom

  1. What a touching moment. My eyes got a little teary out of pure joy for this family. This must have been a big step for that mom…and to see the pure joy as they danced. Thank you for sharing.

  2. Dear Erin,
    Your sad beginning turned into a happy arrival, and the dancing finale was such a great surprise.
    Terje

  3. This is definitely one of those moments that teaching wraps her arms around us and makes us feel so good as teachers. Good to know A. was very happy that day in school. Thanks for sharing.

  4. This brought tears to my eyes! I’m so glad Miss A’s mom came! They will both treasure this moment!!

Leave a Reply

