About Me as a Reader


“If I am going to expect students to love to read and write, I need for them to know me as a reader and writer. For me to model being a reader and writer, I must create a life outside the classroom that includes an array of literate experiences.” – Regie Routman

Oil on canvas

Introduced to reading by a mother with a voracious appetite for books (especially murder mysteries), I have been in love with books from an early age.  As a girl I was teased by my family for loosing myself in a text.  “Erin.  Erin. ERIN!” they would shout, trying to get my attention while I was immersed in a novel. Inspired by Franki’s post, “100 Things About Me as a Reader,” at a Year of Reading, I would like to share my own, albeit shorter, list of Things About Me as a Reader.

  1. After saying goodnight to my parents, I used to sneak under the covers with a flashlight and read Nancy Drew.
  2. I enjoy reading on my iPod touch, especially now that I can use the internal dictionary to look up words I don’t know.
  3. I still love the texture, smell and structure of paper books.
  4. I read multiple books at once: at least one fiction book, one or two professional/non-fiction books as well as at least one book that nurtures personal growth.
  5. I think young-adult fiction is “yummy,” hard to resist and quickly consumed.
  6. Emails, blogposts, Facebook, and online news make up the majority of my reading these days.
  7. My favorite genre is fantasy.
  8. I have read Dragonsong by Anne McCaffrey at least six times
  9. A record of what I have read can be found at Goodreads.com
  10. I like to write in books; it’s like having a conversation with the text.
  11. At night, my husband and I enjoy reading aloud to each other
  12. Talking about books is exciting, engaging and motivating for me; I enjoy learning from other people’s perspectives, insights and personal experiences.
  13. I read anywhere I can: public transportation, while walking, bathroom, bed, living room, waiting in line at the grocery store…
  14. Dialogue- and plot-driven books are the most enjoyable for me to read, but I am currently challenging myself to observe and learn from the descriptive writing of master authors.
  15. One of my favorite descriptive lines is from Barbara Kingsolver‘sBean Trees, “Believe me in those days the girls were dropping by the wayside like seeds off a poppy seed bun” (Kingsolver pg.3).
  16. I like fiction that is informed by, or lends new insight into historical events: The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar WaoMiddlesexKavlier and Clay.
  17. Reading about the political, spiritual and cultural aspects of food is fascinating: The Omnivore’s DilemaAphrodite: A Memoir of the SenseAnimal, Vegetable, MiracleFast Food Nation
  18. YES! Magazine is my favorite magazine.
6 responses to “About Me as a Reader

  1. How do you choose what to read when your wish list keeps growing?
    Will you also share your top 10 of different categories.
    Terje

    • Choosing what to read next is a difficult process. These days I am working on a balanced literary diet, switching between adult fiction and children’s fiction. This helps with the choice. For example I just finished The Hunger Games (young-adult), and I knew my next book would be adult literature. Other than that, I choose rather impetuously – grabbing the book that moves me.

      By categories do you mean types of books ? Such as realistic fiction, humor, etc…? I like the idea of adding to this list, letting it grow over time.

  2. I love this entry! I’m reading The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet for fun. Takes place in Japan. For my love of history: Stephen Cohen’s Rethinking Soviet History…More…one on Peacekeeping after WW I…

    I’d love a new mystery novel. Ideas?

  3. I would like to see your top 10 read aloud books, top 10 PD books for reading instruction, top 10 books that make you cry, laugh, wonder, and other lists like that. Genre doesn’t matter.
    Terje

  4. I used to sneak under the covers and read by torch light too!! How fast we forget these things about ourselves but oh how easy we remember with a trigger! I am envious that you can read anywhere and read on your iPod touch!

  5. Dear Mrs. Mahollitz,
    Loved this post and just “friended” you on Goodreads. I love to read, too. I brought in the book that I am currently reading (The Forgotten Garden by Kate Morton) to school yesterday to share with my grade 2 students how much I love reading it. I told them I couldn’t wait to get home to continue. Well, I am so sad to say that I left it at school. I am off on Fridays and wonder what they will say/think when they see my book still at school. I like to read more than one book at a time so I guess I will just start another for the weekend. I love Goodreads, too, and will enjoy checking out the books you enjoy.
    from,
    Mrs. Lynch in Quebec

Leave a Reply

